North Qld Amateur Turf Club Inc.

Cup Race AmateursOur History

The North Queensland Amateur Turf Club Carnival has drawn thousands of people to Townsville for an extended weekend of fun, festivities and top class horse racing.

Since the very first race meeting was held in 1911, the affectionately titled 'Amateurs' has faithfully reflected life in North and Western Queensland through good times and bad, droughts, floods, fires and two world wars.

The club has a mix of town and country members and, in recent years, there has been a strong growth in the numbers of younger members. This ensures that the annual carnival will maintain its status as a social and sporting icon for vast numbers of people throughout the North and West of our State.

Townsville AmateursTownsville Amateurs is now the culmination of the northern Winter Racing Carnival, ensuring that there are large numbers of quality horses available to race.

This factor, coupled with prize money and trophies in 2010 valued at more than $125,000, guaranteed good fields and excellent racing for what was one of the most memorable years in the club's long history.

The 2016 Committee

The current management committee of the North Queensland Amateur Turf Club is dedicated to and aware of the responsibility placed upon them by their members to produce a triumphant carnival. We are also dedicated to giving our sponsors value for their investment and an opportunity to promote and market their products and or services throughout the carnival and also during the year to our membership base.

Every decision made is done so in the best interests of racing in the north and the members and sponsors who support the club and to ensure there will always be amateur racing in the region. The members of the committee provide stability and strength to the organisation, which is vital for the long term viability and achievement of the North Queensland Amateur Turf Club (Townsville Amateurs).

Member Committee Role Background
Ian Davis President  
Ian Weller Vice President  
Peter Stevens Treasurer Rabobank
Katanya Lee Secretary  
Julie Davis    
John Hopes   Solicitor, Giudes & Elliott
Jennie Roberts    
Carol Ross   Grazier, Starbright Station, Charters Towers
Michael Charge    
Emma Crouch